Shame of a dead man – Behçet Necatigil

A-Lonely-House-12

Never could I turn my hand to anything.

I lived my life to no benefit.

I would not have survived, I would have died

if it were not for you all.

So many of you went to great lengths for me,

I was almost a burden on your back.

And now I need your help once more,

if it’s no trouble, for the last time.

Just as you brought my wood from the forest,

just as you baked my bread in your oven,

please lay me in my grave

as you know best.

.

Poet: Behçet Necatigil  1916 – 1979

Translated by : C.Stockford at the Cunda International Workshop

for translators of Turkish literature, 2015

Leave a Reply

